We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Muddy Roots

by The Buddhahood

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Muddy Roots via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days
    3 remaining

      $12 USD or more 


Dirt Sleep 03:38
Worry Tune 04:50
Kaya 04:15
No Mind 03:29
Listen 04:21
Care 04:11
All Our Own 03:19
Big Fish 04:00


For fans of Steel Pulse, Giant Panda, Guerilla Dub Squad, and Donna the Buffalo

The Buddhahood presents an exciting, lively, energetic, and fresh-sounding repertoire of music. This 8-piece group includes the standard rhythm section with auxiliary percussion, steel drums, and horns. There are times when every member of the band picks up a percussion instrument and participates in a massive drum jam. Such an array of instruments allows the band a huge color palette, used to paint a dance-happy sonic environment for each song.

The members of The Buddhahood are of vastly different musical backgrounds, creating a frothing melting-pot of ideas in which decades, even centuries of diverse musical influences converge to form tunes with innovation, nuance, and pure groove power. This could be the reason their music as a whole completely defies labels. The colorful repertoire displays influences of rock, funk, jazz, Latin American, Caribbean, African, and Middle Eastern sources. The tunes are all original, except for the handful of traditional African and Middle Eastern drum motives to which African dancers and belly dancers strut their stuff. Percussion plays an integral role in bringing the primal self closer to the surface through the repetition of ancient rhythms.

All this variety and craziness contribute to a dynamically colorful, electric show that attracts an audience as eclectic as the band itself. Each BuddhaHood performance bubbles along with an unstoppable rhythm, and everyone gets caught in the flow. Once people start dancing, the groove never lets them stop. This band creates a fun, friendly, and open atmosphere, and you can never expect the same thing at any two shows. What you CAN expect is a performance full of surprises, many dancing bodies, perspiration, an elevated heart rate, and creative tunes that are as uplifting spiritually and emotionally as they are physical.


released June 6, 2006

Tony Cavagnaro – electric guitar; vocals
Rick Whitney – bass guitar; vocals
Paul Hansen – percussion
John Payton – drums
Drew Bellavia – tenor sax; vocals
Gabriel Costanzo – trumpet; vocals
Courtney balles – alto sax; flute; vocals
Dave Ferreira – steel drums; bari sax; percussion

Special Guests
Peet Mugnolo – percussion; vocals
Kevin Burke – vocals on dirt sleep


all rights reserved



Melodic Revolution Distribution Florida

Promoting independent music from around the world since 2004

contact / help

Contact Melodic Revolution Distribution

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account